I need a torque wrench

Status
Not open for further replies.
Looking for a general purpose torque wrench and I'd like to spend under $100 if possible. I'm not a professional mechanic and I won't be using it daily, but it's about the only tool missing from my kit right now. I was looking at the Tektons on Amazon, does anyone have any experience with those? Also, I'm assuming a clicker wrench is the easiest for general use?

You'll need more than. One. I have a 1/2", 3/8" and 1/4". I found some good deals on the 1/2 and 3/8 on eBay. Brand new CDI and precision instruments. My 1/4" is a tekton and no complaints. Mine are all clickers. I like the design of the tekton the best actually.

Just get a cheap one from HF. No need for anything more as a DIY.

I've only really used my 1/2" as a DIY mechanic but have only ever used it on suspension and wheels. I would get a 1/2" and then pick up a 3/8' if you need it for something.

Originally Posted by das_peikko
You have any idea what torque range you'll need it in?

Well, I'd have to look up the specs for my car, but setting torque for wheels and brake caliper parts is the use I have in mind at the moment.

Originally Posted by maxdustington

I've only really used my 1/2" as a DIY mechanic but have only ever used it on suspension and wheels. I would get a 1/2" and then pick up a 3/8' if you need it for something.

This

I have a good Snap On 1/2 torque wrench I inherited from my FIL, Craftsman, and HF torque wrenches. You'll be hard priced to find an inexpensive torque wrench for things like torquing wheels etc, better than the HF torque wrenches for the money. I have them in 1/2, 3/8, and 1/4 inch drive and found them to be quite good.

Originally Posted by littlehulkster
Originally Posted by das_peikko
You have any idea what torque range you'll need it in?

Well, I'd have to look up the specs for my car, but setting torque for wheels and brake caliper parts is the use I have in mind at the moment.