HVAC "Advice"

I generally stay out of the home HVAC threads because, well, most people want to know what the cheapest solution is.

I saw in the latest thread someone asking about mini-splits. There's several versions/product lines of "mini-splits".

First off, I have been a fan of the newer technology of "mini-splits" for over 10 years. In a former life I worked as an HVAC designer at a few engineering firms (MEP) doing commercial and industrial HVAC, Piping and Plumbing design for over 20 years. I am proficient in cheap residential crap (5 tons and below), packaged DX, chilled water, VAV/PIU, water source heat pumps, with a minor in industrial cooling water, steam, process, plumbing. I have also minored in mechanical contracting doing piping, structural and some HVAC. I can fake my way around a construction site until someone smarter comes along. ;)

Anyway, I skipped on the chance to put my money where my mouth (and brain) was in 2015 when we bought a house and it needed both HVAC systems replaced. I hem-hawed at the idea of installing a Daikin 5-ton Multi-port condensing unit (VRV-S Commercial System) with two indoor 'convertible' fan coil units, connecting to the existing ductwork. More or less a typical system change-out except the equipment was going to be state of the art like no other house had.

These "mini-splits" that are multi-port condensing heat pump units can supply refrigerant to 2, 3, maybe 4 indoor units and do so with NASA-grade precision, making your home/office/etc. more comfortable than you could ever imagine while reducing your power bill to make you think you've installed solar panels. It's also quiet as a cotton ball and will last longer than your typical residential junk. They are also capable of providing heat to one area and cooling to another, but the costs climb even further than what a system is that can only heat or cool at one time.