How to keep this mower in tip top shape?

I don't know much on small engines. My parents gave me this 21in Craftsman. 4.75hp that runs on a brings and straton motor. When I got it, it didn't fire up. I took everything apart and it just kept leaking fuel due to no replacement gasket. I ordered a carb off amazon ($21 for whole kit) air filter, spark plug and new carb. Bolted this up and sure enough fired up no issue. Did a quick oil change by tipping over the mower.

We live in the city. Small patch of grass in front in 3 sections (10x10 left of walk way, 10x10 right of walk way and 5x10 past the sidewalk).

This is my first year mowing. Its taken maybe 30-45mins from walking out to walking back inside

Question... I don't mind spending $21 a year to keep this mower running with a new carb and all but it seems mighty wasteful. What can do I to keep this mower running nicely? Stablizer when we store it? Or just drain the bowl before storage? I wanted to run pure gas but that was like $20/ a liter.

I’ve always stored my mowing equipment with Stabil in the fuel and had no problems. Keep it in your fuel can and tank all year. Change oil once a season. Clean the air filter as needed. Replace every couple of years. Sharpen the blade at the beginning of the season. It will last until you are tired of it.

I use a dose of Stabil Marine 360 every tank of gas. I do everything else "wrong" when it comes to storing my mower over the winter and it still will fire without the choke in the spring. I have to pull the plug wires to actually spin it over it starts too fast for circulating oil.

I use the wrong gas, plain 87. I don't drain the tank or the carb. I don't put a new plug in every spring. I literally do everything "wrong" except for the Stabil.

Just hit 8 years with my mower.

It is NOT a push mower, but I don't see them as being much different.