Higher Octane Gas for my OPE?

I believe that I have been using 87 octane gas for the last 5 years in my mower and Echo trimmer.

And I just realized that my trimmer calls for at least 89 octane gas.

Should I switch them both to 89 or higher octane fuel?

Thanks

I use 89 and mostly because it is only 10 cents more a gallon at a Sunoco near me. So I do but if it was 60 cents more a gallon...nope.

I must say all my mowers run great on it.

Yep, the non-ethanol around here is REC90. Although I never noticed any difference running regular 87 e10.

Echo, Stihl, and Husky equipment have spec'd 89 octane for many years. I find most box store saws and trimmers spec 87 minimum.
The difference is likely better quality and ignition timing for more power.

I burn in winter and run 93 in my modified saws and use it in the others if I make a big enough batch depending on the amount of wood that I acquire.

Push mowers are low compression, fixed ignition engines that typically won't benefit from higher octane if the manufacturer specifies 87 (or lower depending on your country of origin).

The main reason the 2 stroke motors require higher octane is that they see many engines destroyed by preignition. When fuel sits it starts to oxidize and aromatics evaporate and the octane will drop. You may never see a problem if you are running at 1/2 throttle or in cooler weather but when they get hot and you run them fast you take a chance you will get a preignition and it only takes 1 to destroy the motor. Most of these are built light and cant take that abuse.