Group III syn blends

Status
Not open for further replies.
If you guys could give me a hand on this one, I would appreciate it...

I'm about to start my first Auto-RX rinse phase, and need to find a decent Group III oil. I've noticed that certain "synthetic blends" are as inexpensive (if not lower in price) than major-brand dinos. For example, the Conoco-Phillips trio of Motorcraft, TropArtic, and Kendall, are all synthetic blends that are often cheaper (at least at Walmart) than Valvoline, Castrol, Pennzoil, Quaker State, etc. dino oils.

Are the synthetic blends that I mentioned in the Group III category? Are all synthetic blends Group III for that matter? I want to get the best rinse possible, but would like a blend to help a bit with the cold winter months looming closer. Thanks.

I want to remind everybody I AM NOT AN EXPERT. Now since we got it right I will give you my "opinion".

Go with PP if you want a group 3. Good UOA's, cheap, and available. Go by your manual for weight. Blend, do you mean Semi Synthetic? I would go with the Group III "Fully Synthetic". Valvoline synthetic is group 3/PAO. But you said group 3 and PP seems to be the best group 3 as for wear numbers.

Now...I'm handing the floor over to _______ He's an expert.

I'm not an expert either, so I'm guessing the synthetic component of the blend is Group III and the rest of the oil is Group II. *shrugs*

I thought you were suppose to use dino for cleaning and rinse phase when using auto rx. Then you can go to whatever oil you want to run. I could be wrong though. There is a first time for everything. LOL....

Thanks for the replies so far. I checked the Kendall website link, but still could not find any info on the base oils in the Synthetic Blend. Anyone know about Kendall, Motorcraft, or TropArtic and whether it is Group III?

Originally Posted By: tsmay51