Fruit Tree Spray

Status
Not open for further replies.
Back in Oct/Nov 2009, we planted 5 fruit trees: two apple - (1) golden/yellow delicious & (1) granny smith, (1) New (or Red?) Haven peach, (1) montmorency cherry, (1) AU-cherry plum tree (named cherry due to the red color), (2) rabbiteye blueberry bushes, & (2)semi-erect thornless blackberries. We plan on adding figs & a pomegranate tree this next winter. I need to get my chemicals together & spray them for the first time for the dormant spray. I have the Home Fruit Spray Guide ANR-50 from the Alabama Cooperative Extension System from mainly Auburn University. It was published in Jun-2000. I'm a newbie when it comes to growing fruit trees.

They recommend the following:

Apples & Pears
First Dormant - Mid to late winter
5 T. Superior oil (90%) or 5 T. Suuperior oil (90%) + 4 T. Kocide 101
Kocide is said to control Alternaria leaft blotch & fireblight. Is that really necessary the 1st year? I'm having difficulty finding it locally at the feed & seed/hardware type stores. I'll try to the county co-op extension next but what say ye?

Apples & Pears
2nd Dormant - 3 weeks after First Dormant Spray
1/2 pt. Liquid Lime Sulfur or 5 T. Superior oil (90%) or 5 T. Suuperior oil (90%) + 4 T. Kocide 101
This is to protect against scale, mites, & powdery mildew plus Kocide typical stuff

Peaches & Plums
First Dormant - After all leaves drop
5 T. Superior Oil (90%) + 1.5 T. Carbamate WDG (water-dispersible granules) to protect against scale, mites. Carbamate after leaf fall for best peach leaf curl control. Why in the heck would I care what the leaves are doing since I don't eat them.

Peaches & Plums
Second Dormant - 2 weeks following first dormant
more of the same

Blackberries
First Dormant - In late winter before growth starts (bud break)
3/4 pt. liquid lime sulfur to control Anthracnose

I would like to use wettable powder as much as possible since buying water seems silly.