Falken Sincera...Michelin Clone.

Status
Not open for further replies.
My Honda Fit is hard to get tires for when I need them 185 55 16.. usually have to be ordered so I usually buy a set ahead of time. The car came with Dunlops which i have gotten a couple of knots and flats.. so I switched to Michelin Premier a/s. Tires are wearing well but they were expensive (about $140 each at the time i bought them).

I did a search to find something decent and came upon the Falken Sincera.

Falken- 80000 mile warranty. Treadwear 720 $63 each

Michelin 60000 mile warranty. Treadwear 640 $135 each

Side by side they are exact clones.

Have not installed them yet.

What do you mean that they're exact clones? Are they rebranded? I wouldn't think so since Falken is a Sumitomo owned tire.

Looking at pictures online, they aren't identical, the sipes on the center three tread blocks are ridged in the Michelin. I'm not a tire expert, but I'd say that two tires looking similar doesn't mean they're the same or that they'll perform similarly.

But [censored], at less than half the price, that's hard to pass up. A quick search on Tire Rack shows the Altimax RT43 for $80 each, a well regarded value tire.

Originally Posted By: mightymousetech
Comparing tread wear ratings between manufacturers is meaningless.

This is true.

Because the treadwear rating is just a comparison relative to tires made in the same brand.
The tire used as a reference point on different brand may not be exactly the same.
So different brand of tires will have different starting reference point.

Last edited:
My two sets of Falkens were toast after 30k and 40k miles. my Michelins looked brand new after 30k. they are simply different tires at different price points. and yes, Falken, Ohtsu, and Sumitomo are from the same company.

Originally Posted By: JMJNet

This is true.

Because the treadwear rating is just a comparison relative to tires made in the same brand.