Electrical Outlet - Help

Joined
Sep 2, 2005
Messages
9,089
Location
MIchigan
Screenshot 2022-08-14 at 15-29-53 Leviton GFNT1-W Self-Test SmartlockPro Slim GFCI Non-Tamper-...jpg



The bottom outlet on the receptacle in the living room doesn't work so I check it with my Klein outlet tester. It says "open neutral" so I remove it from the wall and notice the wires are plugged into the back. So I disconnect them and install them on the side screws. Now the bottom outlet works but the Klein outlet tester still gives me an open neutral error. What can I do to fix the error ?
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2015
Messages
4,584
Location
USA
Your picture is a GFCI outlet. It doesn't sound like you actually have that though.

The old (1980s) push-in wired outlets can become open-hot or open-neutral anywhere along the chain back to the breaker box. You really should replace them all.
 
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
2,528
Location
USA
If i remember correctly a gcfi should have 3 wires going into it. An open neutral means that there is a break somewhere in the ground wire.
 
  • Like
Reactions: JC1
Joined
Jul 29, 2022
Messages
126
Location
Arizona
Honestly this is where you probably should call a professional if you're not 100% familiar with residential electric. A true open neutral condition would not allow the outlet to function. Depending on your tester you could have the hot & neutral reversed or a myriad of other conditions. Did the outlet have any of the side tabs broken to be switched?
 
Joined
Jul 12, 2012
Messages
7,362
Location
Caldwell Idaho
They are wired different than a regular plug. Buy a new plug and wire it using the instructions . I have those plugs fail from the electronics inside.
 

Warstud

Thread starter
Joined
Sep 2, 2005
Messages
9,089
Location
MIchigan
Sorry I showed a GFCI ...... it isn't. It's a 3 prong outlet without the ground hooked up.
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2019
Messages
1,301
Location
Louisiana
If i remember correctly a gcfi should have 3 wires going into it. An open neutral means that there is a break somewhere in the ground wire.
It SHOULD have three wires but it doesn't have to . And a neutral and a ground are two different things .
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2011
Messages
1,065
Location
MA
Are you sure it shows open neutral? It should show open ground.
Replace it with a gfci and you're legal, label it no equipment ground.
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2013
Messages
2,743
Location
Ottumwa, Iowa
Which is illegal per the NEC unless the circuit is on a GFCI. Good time to get a professional.
There are numerous situations where that is not illegal...

First make sure your tester works.

There are little tabs that can separate the halves of the receptacle. Sometimes those can go.
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2022
Messages
126
Location
Arizona
There are numerous situations where that is not illegal...

First make sure your tester works.

There are little tabs that can separate the halves of the receptacle. Sometimes those can go.

406.4(D)(2) makes it pretty clear that unless you have the circuit/load protected by a GFCI you can not install a grounding-type receptacle where an EGC is not available.
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2011
Messages
7,917
Sorry I showed a GFCI ...... it isn't. It's a 3 prong outlet without the ground hooked up.
If you only have a hot and neutral with an older house, you should replace the three prong outlet with a two prong outlet. What you have is technically a code violation.

Many times outlets are fed from another outlet box. There could be a bad connection there. Some outlets do not have a home run back to the breaker panel.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 5, 2013
Messages
783
Location
Peace valley, Missouri
Seen neutrals get loose at another device or in a wire nut termination. Have a volt meter? Black to white 120vac black to ground 120vac don't have one start at panel then devices.
 
Joined
Apr 24, 2018
Messages
2,819
Location
Wisconsin
I would test the wires themselves

If the neutral is bad at the tap a new outlet does nothing

Also why is the top and bottom outlet wired separately? Are they on switches?
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2002
Messages
51,129
Location
Everson WA - Pacific NW USA
View attachment 112508


The bottom outlet on the receptacle in the living room doesn't work so I check it with my Klein outlet tester. It says "open neutral" so I remove it from the wall and notice the wires are plugged into the back. So I disconnect them and install them on the side screws. Now the bottom outlet works but the Klein outlet tester still gives me an open neutral error. What can I do to fix the error ?
I assumed the top outlet worked nominally and there are H-N-G wires present.

This is not the case?

Are you sure bottom outlet isn't switched via a switch on the wall somewhere?
 
Top