Doing a maintenance charge on a seldom used vehicle

There has been a fair amount written about topping up charges on batteries to keep them in good shape. I have a 2nd car that currently gets used on weekends averaging 40 miles across the weekend. Never really paid attention to this issue but decided to put the smart charger on. The battery is a Ever Start Max closing in on 4 years old. I have a Motomaster smart charger. On starting the charger it immediately ramped up to 2 amps. After a while it increased the amperage to 3.5 amps and the cooling fan came on. Then slowly the amperage came down to 1.3 amps at 2 hrs and when I checked it was 0.3 amps at 7 hrs, 0.1 amps at 10 hrs and finally came to rest at 0 amps and a FUL indicator at 12 hrs. My battery tester then indicated 820 CCA. I take it this battery probably benefitted from the charge but I don’t know if it’s worth it to carry on with this. Any thoughts ? Thanks.

F2EA3FD2-AD35-444E-9A9A-E62CA174700E.jpeg8A59A411-5D2D-4D2A-A178-16A207B1CB39.jpegE409DA10-EEEA-4B49-96BD-B6D5DFF5092A.jpeg

Last edited:
Yes, I have done the same thing only using a float charger. I have one of the inexpensive HF ones and it works great. I once had an indication that the battery was down significantly (estimate 25%) and the float charger brought it all the way back over about 3 days of time. I am not an expert, but I think it would be better to slow charge seldom used batteries than to use a conventional charger on them occasionally.

The vehicle in question is used similar in the manner you described with yours, and I only put the float charger on it about one per month for a couple of days time or if I get an indication that the battery is indeed in low charge state.