Disintegrating Mobil 1?

First time I've ever seen anything like this. I've been using AC Delco filters for the past 6 years or so, but decided to put a Mobil 1 filter on, which I used to use on cars I don't have anymore.

I get the AC Delco filter off, start putting the O ring from the Mobil 1 filter on, and it literally disintergrates as I slide it on. That gunk is the outer layer of the O ring coming off. Totally got everywhere and was a PITA to clean out of the housing. What would cause this? The filter looks legit I think

Attachments

• PXL_20231015_014822245.jpg
    PXL_20231015_014822245.jpg
    132.1 KB · Views: 353
  • PXL_20231015_014808861.jpg
    PXL_20231015_014808861.jpg
    112.1 KB · Views: 353
First time I've ever seen anything like this. I've been using AC Delco filters for the past 6 years or so, but decided to put a Mobil 1 filter on, which I used to use on cars I don't have anymore.

I get the AC Delco filter off, start putting the O ring from the Mobil 1 filter on, and it literally disintergrates as I slide it on. That gunk is the outer layer of the O ring coming off. Totally got everywhere and was a PITA to clean out of the housing. What would cause this? The filter looks legit I think
I used to see the same thing on the older Motorcraft FL-2062. It’s some sort of coating. Try a Super Tech MP or stay with the AC/Delco.

I used to see the same thing on the older Motorcraft FL-2062. It’s some sort of coating. Try a Super Tech MP or stay with the AC/Delco.
Interesting, I wonder why any o ring would do that. I'll probably stick with AC Delco - a trip to Walmart mid-oil change is my punishment for fixing something that wasn't broken lol

This seems to be more of a problem with Purolator made oil filters. Mobil 1 is made by Purolator.

That’s not a coating-that’s a fake silicone o ring! Nitrile masquerading as silicone with an orange paint job… What will Mann/Purolator screw up next! :poop: