Detroit Diesel 2-stroke oil

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi,

Older 2-stroke diesel engines, such as the Detroit Diesel 71 and 92 series, had monograde 40-weight oil (SAE 40) with low ash content as being the recommended lubricant. Chevron Delo 100 would be an example of the recommended type of oil.

With oil technology having advanced greatly since the past decades when those engines were in production, are there oils currently available which could be used in 2-stroke diesel engines that would outperform monograde SAE 40 oils having specs that are decades old?

Thank you!

The specs may be decades old, but modern SAE 40 and other mono grades are blended from group II base stocks that rival synthetic performance.

edit; I'm not sure how SAE 40 could be blended using a group III without a lot of bright stock, or a very thick PAO added.

Last edited:
I have some experience (little bit) and a lot of reading (a lot) on lubing those engines. I have run them in marine applications.

I am wondering what you are trying to beat? The main thing in my mind is that if switching from a monograde, you are switching to a thinner base oil with the viscosity made up by synthethetic, non-lubricating Viscosity Index Improvers. These are geat if you are are starting the engine up often under like 10F. They are a total negative at at operating temperature as they degrade much more quickly than the base oil, and leave you with excess by-product to clog things.

If you are running your engines in an on-again/off-again application in an oil field in Alberta - yes, you may benefit from a multi-grade oil. If you are in a marine application were the engine room temps never falls below 20F, you are hurting yourself using a multi-grade.

A lot of these specs were written assuming these engines were in continuous duty - in which a multi-grade is a negative. So you have to look at your application, which you didn't describe, and think about it.