Chrysler oil dipsticks breaking off

I bought my 2007 Pacifica back in 2018 and one of the first few times I pulled the oil dipstick the handle broke off. Getting the dipstick out wasn't difficult and the new part was some $20 or so.

Five years later, I have to use enough effort to pull the dang thing out that I'm confident it's going to snap again. It's not the o-ring, it's the plastic that seems to expand over time that makes it difficult to get in/out of the metal tube. I've tried vasoline, oil, etc but that thing is jamb stuck in there.

Is this a common problem for Chrysler vehicles of this vintage, and does any part exist that won't do this? I'm contemplating filing away some of the plastic under the O-ring so it slips in nicely and lets the O-ring do its job.

Im a life long Chrysler tech and I’ve seen it a couple of times, not an epidemic. You must have the yellow “ring” handle with the flat metal dipstick? Pop the o ring off and use a strip of emery to take a small amout of material off. Fit it without the o ring, then when you reinstall the o ring it’ll be tight enough.

Im a life long Chrysler tech and I’ve seen it a couple of times, not an epidemic. You must have the yellow “ring” handle with the flat metal dipstick? Pop the o ring off and use a strip of emery to take a small amout of material off. Fit it without the o ring, then when you reinstall the o ring it’ll be tight enough.
Yellow ring handle with flat dipstick, yes. The new one I bought 5 years ago slipped in and out like a glove. Yet over the last several months it's become increasingly difficult-- twist side to side, pull and say a prayer.

I'll try sanding the plastic under the O-ring, as that's definitely where it's jammed up. I can't complain about a new $20 dipstick every 5 years, but I'd rather not worry about if/when it will break.