Charging A Car Battery

When charging a battery with a charger.......... is it really all that dangerous to hook the negative cable from the charger to the negative post on the battery ? The reason I ask is most of the time I cant tell if the battery is charging or not and think it may have to do with hooking the negative cable to the chassis or other metal part.

Personally, I have always, and still do hook my chargers directly to the battery/cables. I guess it is not the "safe" way to do it, but I have been doing it for over 50 years and never a problem.. Not that I am saying that you should, just that is what I do.

I think its included in the instructions for liability reasons especially in todays "its somebody elses fault" society.Old school vented batteries maybe, but moder sealed batteries should be fine. When I hook up my charger its disconnected from the wall socket any way, after its hooked up to the car then I plug it in. I would worry about it.

I don't think it matters with a charger. Charging batteries can outgas hydrogen, but a charger shouldn't be cranking "lots" of amps, plus when you first hook it up, it hasn't been charging. It'd only be when you're done and unhooking: and if it's fully charged, it shouldn't be charging (no V or I).

For jump starting, that's something different.

My cheapo chargers though don't have power switches, so I hook up the charger to the battery and then plug into the wall.

The theory is that in a perfect (bad) environment, a spark could ignite built up hydrogen gas. I've never seen such a perfect environment and always connect to negative battery terminal.

It might almost be an urban myth. Dead battery just sitting there does not produce hydrogen gas, rather it is during severe overcharging, if the airflow is extremely low and somehow trapped which won't happen if the hood is up (hydrogen is lighter than air). It's more of an issue with old crude charging of solar power batteries in a sealed room, long-term buildup.