Bought a new laptop

Status
Not open for further replies.
Merk -- that's a interesting issue I've never heard of or experienced before.

Jealous. As an admin for an IT company there is nothing better than having the right tool for the job.

For some reason a person doing data entry gets the same spec computer as an admin managing infrastructure. I might have 1 mainframe window open, 5 java apps for our backup grids, lotus notes, sametime, several putty sessions and windows opening to online ticketing systems. I thought the 8gb i5 LT i just got would be stellar, but as usual it chugs along.

I think this might do the job....

I hear you on that on. I am an IT Admin for a healthcare company. I have an i7 with 8GB of RAM and a 500GB WD Blue at work. It does OK, but is very performance limited by the 'ole platter drive.

I usually lock it and don't restart months at a time.

redhat and simple_gifts,

:-((((

DITTO

P.S. redhat, congrats on the nice machine. many moons of happy using/enjoying...

Last edited:
Just looking at the specs . . .
That must have cost you a testicle.

Last edited:
Thank you, I got it today and am loving it. It's going to probably be a couple of days until I can try out some games on it. I have an older (ancient by today's tech) Drobo 2 -- it's gonna take many hours to transfer the 300gb worth of game data to the new Steam directory.

Very fast, very well built machine. Doesn't lag or anything dumb.

The new mouse and mechanical keyboard are great as well.

I've been running the same PC since 2008. (Desktop)
Have been upgraded quite a few times. Still using same motherboard, i have changed basically everything else because they stop working suddenly. (PSU, GPU)
CPU and RAM were upgraded to be able to handle modern games and apps.