basic home AC Tuneup.

Status
Not open for further replies.
So,

It is my first year owning a house in Texas.

Never had central air in New York.

House is about 10 years old, carrier unit, central air.

Everything passed inspection when we bought the house, just had a couple questions about AC Tuneups and the like.

So, the home inspector recommended that we add a float switch on the drain line of the AC, so it shuts off instead of dripping water all over the attic, and walls under it if the line gets clogged.

AC Contractor says he can do that for $129 installed. Do you guys think it is worth while to do this?

Or are only abused non serviced units getting clogged?

I was going to get everything cleaned out once a year.

I was even looking at a device from the internet that attaches to a shop vac, and sucks all the garbage out of the line.

So, the AC contractor is highly rated on angies list, they charge 69 dollars to clean the whole system, and say will add refrigerant if necessary included in that price.

The float switch is 129 additional.

Also for filters, I am using the blue fiberglass type filters and replacing every 30 days. I bought a case on amazon. The pleated filters in the system seemed too restrictive.

What do you guys think?

I just pour bleach down the drain line 2x a year and check up on it every few months or so to make sure its not clogged.

You really don't need a yearly checkup. If it seems to be operating normally (and being in TX you will know pretty fast if its not), just rinse off the outside unit with water once a year.

The question is... how badly do you want to clean up soggy drywall and water soaked insulation, all over the floor, ruining the carpet or wood floor... when that line clogs up, and the pan finally starts overflowing 5 minutes after you leave for work?

I've seen this type of damage, first hand. $129 is cheap insurance, to avoid 10 times that in damage.