Are full-size cargo vans easy to work on?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Good evening all,

I'm looking for a used full-size cargo van to replace my current 07 Ford Ranger in my sig. The van will be a daily driver and mostly using for towing a small pop up camper in summer (camper weighs around 1300lbs, but might upgrade to a hybrid trailer in few years, nothing more than 4000lb). We just like the spacious interior and the convenience to load/unload everything with the van. Due to the budget, the van will likely be somewhere between 10~15 years old so some repairs are a must. These vans look like they don't have a lot of engine spaces from outside, but I've never worked on these before so I have no idea. I'm only interested in the Chevy Express 1500 version, with the 4.3 v6 or 4.8 v8.

And since I'm already here, is there anything I should be looking for? Just some information I live in the salt belt with often -35c harsh winter..

Thanks in advance!!

Chevy has been making the same express forever so parts should be plentiful. I drive them at work and i like the way they ride. The seats are super comfortable. Idk but i think the cover comes off the engine from inside the cab so it can theoretically be easier to work on then the ranger.

Last edited:
No....They are not compared to a full size truck.

When I work on a van, It's usually a company/fleet vehicle driven by a slob.....So you have to clean all the crap out of the way before taking the Doghouse off. Only adds to the frustration.

Owning a 1990 Ford econoline when I was a teen with a 4.9 and currently an f150 with the same engine I think the truck is much easier. The doghouse makes some things really nice that you don't get in the truck like changing the pcv valve but that's about it.

My parents had a 2007 Chevy Express, 5.3l L7, I think, until recently.

- working on anything engine related was a PITA.