2017 Chevy Impala 3.6 coolant change/flush

irv

My wife's car, 2017 Impala 3.6, is due for a coolant change as it is over the 5yr mark and is getting somewhat discolored/weak.
Is there much to this, much to be cautious about or is it pretty much straight forward? I believe there is a drain petcock on the lower portion of the rad on the passenger side?
When refilling, as there is no rad cap, is all new coolant just added through the pressure bottle/tank? The manual reads 9.4L's or almost 10 qrts. of fluid. I plan on mixing it 50/50 (Dex-cool concentrate) but was thinking 60/40 (coolant to water) because of living in southern Ontario. Thoughts?

Also, is just draining out the old then refilling new good enough or should it be flushed? If flushed is the answer, is that just adding it full of water, running it for a few minutes or so then draining that out or is it something completely different than that? I've never done this on these types of cars before, only older ones where you remove the lower rad hose and then fill through the rad cap. Very little info on youtube that I could find specifically for this car.

Thanks in advance.
Sue's car.JPG

Last edited by a moderator:
If it has a radiator cap on the radiator it’s a simple traditional type coolant system. You can just drain and fill the radiator. Let it bleed the air out until it remains full. Drain the reservoir tank and fill to full line.
Keep an eye on the level in radiator for a couple weeks.

If it doesn’t have a radiator cap its probably a closed system and will have a separate burp valve somewhere.