2013 Passat fluid change

Status
Not open for further replies.
Changed half of my fluid a couple days ago. It was getting a little stiff coming out of park and shifts were a bit harsh. It seems I had low fluid considering that 3.5 liters is what many other people on different forums seem to agree that you could expect when draining. I got a little under 2 liters and it was black and disgusting like used motor oil but with a red tinge visible. Because the dealer's fluid is crazy expensive at $24.80, I got some Aisin brand fluid for it which can be gotten for less than $8.00 a quart from Napa. They had to order it for me but they did get it. I put in 3.5 liters and it seems much smoother now while coming out of park and while driving. I am no transmission expert but I knew with 30,000 miles and it starting to shift harshly I had to do something soon. I might get some Pentosin ATF1 LV fluid for it and then change fluid one more time. I don't have VCDS (even the lite version) so I am looking for a way to check the temperature with the Torque app and an ELM 327 bluetooth adapter I have already. I just need to raise the car up a little so I might place pieces of wood of equal thickness in front of all the wheels and drive it up onto them to get it up some. Or I could take it to the edge of my garage floor and there is just enough of a drop there to give me room to get under the car, I have done it before with my Jetta to change the fluid. I just make sure to set the parking brake. If the Torque app will read that fluid temperature, I might just do that next time no one is around to distract or bother me while I check the fluid temperature.