2007 Ford 500 Fuel Tank Design

Status
Not open for further replies.

FMC

I have been tinkering with fuel adds for about the last six months, I have used MMO, TCW3, Redline SI-1 individually and in combination, for example, 4oz MMO + 2oz TCW3 per tank (20 gal) or 5oz SI-1 + 2oz TCW3 per tank (20 gal) but I sometimes experience different results with the combinations, but one thing I seem to notice is when i'm at 1/4 tank or less my performance drops off slightly, my acceleration seems to go flat, I have to drive thru it and really get the RPM's up, after a refueling and with about .4 gal used the performance comes back to normal, if I do not use any adds in the refueling, this does not occur.

It seems the tank design is what's called a saddle type with left and right chambers with a transfere line from one side of the tank to the other, i'm guessing that when i'm dumping the fuel adds into the almost empty tank it's not being evenly distributed between both sides of the tank and remains more concentrated on one side.

This is from the service manual

- a dual-container (saddle-type) high density polyethelene fuel tank.

- a fuel level sensor in the left fuel tank half to transfer fuel from the left to the right, which contains the fuel pump module that supplies fuel under pressure to the fuel rail.

- a fuel tank filler pipe which contains a restrictor plate to permit only unleaded fuel to be pumped into the fuel tank.
-
- a fuel tank filler pipe assembly that cannot be modified in any way. The fuel tank filler pipe is serviced only by installing a new filler pipe assembly.

- a 1/4 turn fuel tank filler cap.

- an electronic returnless fuel system.

- a fuel filter that is mounted in front of the fuel tank on the right hand side of the vehicle providing filtration to protect the fuel injectors.

So when are you dumping the adds? At the station, just before you pump?

It should mix in a full tank just from sloshing around.