2000 F150 4.2l V6 Overheating

Yes. To raise the boiling point. If there is a bad cap, it boils at lower temp - 212. Apparently you don’t know what happens if radiator boils over.

Sure do. If the coolant has not boiled which it didn't, the cap itself is not going to raise the temperature gauge as indicated by the OP.

I am not a mechanic but like to tinker. Bought this truck 3 years ago, only put 5k miles during this time.

Truck overheats on long highway drives or long up hills when driving at 70-75MPH. As I see the temperature gauge start to creep up I slow down and can control it that way but it is annoying and I am trying to see if I can get it fixed. Can idle or city drive all day long with no overheating issues at all. If I turn on the heat, it does not feel like it is as hot as it should be and has no effect on the truck's operating temperature, I am not sure if that is my mind playing tricks on me though. Besides overheating issue, truck drives great.

No check engine lights. No smoke out the tail pipe. No oil burning and no missing coolant in the last 5k miles. Oil looks normal, not milky.

Last year I overhauled the cooling system completely with OEM parts- radiator, water pump, thermostat, fan clutch, and of course fresh coolant. No change to symptoms. As far as I know, there is no way to bleed the coolant system beyond parking the truck uphill and letting it run for a while.

I am thinking this might be a small headgasket leak. I could do a leak down test but have not done that yet. Open to feedback and ideas/things to check.

You have already gone after the usual suspects. I have seen a lot of threads on the 4.2 overheating on the F150 forums, and usually it is traced back to the radiator or fan clutch. I did see one where the guy traced it back to a small headgasket leak, but that seems to be very uncommon.

What about the AC condenser? Any chance it is plugged and restricting airflow to the radiator?