Ouch! Got rear-ended on the drive home

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm a careful driver, and always try to leave room, brake early, and stay aware of my surroundings, but unfortunately, you can't control other drivers.

Case in point, I was driving home from work today, on the 101 highway here in Phoenix, in the center lane. Traffic was off-and-on stop and go, and I had just come from an area where traffic was moving at about 45-50 to a slow-down. I braked carefully, and just as I had come to a stop, WHAM! hit from behind. The guy was in the left lane, decided he had to be in the center lane apparently, but did not leave enough room / anticipate the slow-down.

First, his car (a 1998 "rough" Accord)..

2dshk4w.jpg

358wj12.jpg

... and now for the back of my Fusion. I was really expecting some major damage..

Surprisingly, it was not as bad as I expected, although I'm still disappointed. I work so hard to take care of it, and this happens. Apparently, he hit his brakes hard once he realized he was about to hit me, and so I suspect the front end dipped down low enough that it wedged under the back of my Fusion. In fact, he hit me hard enough and low enough that his front bumper cover actually ended up lodged under my car, pinned on the muffler tips, etc.. I'll definitely need a new muffler, and I suspect, everything in back of the catalytic converter.

In case anyone is wondering, there does not appear to be any damage at all to the trunk, lights, or really anything above the bumper.

Minor damage, agreed, but you never know how extensive it is until it's inspected. I've seen late model cars totalled for less visible damage. Even if repairable, it will be surprisingly expensive if you see the final bill. Not much you can do about it, though. Hope everything works out OK.