Oxidized paint on hood

Status
Not open for further replies.

AZjeff

$50 Site Donor 2023
I recently noticed the paint on the hood of my 2007 GMC has discolorization, from a side angle with certain lighting you can see uneven haziness with some spotting that looks like when oil is on water. I've been using clay bar and Collinite 845 for a few years but it's not enough obviously. The truck spends some time inside but mostly it's outside. I rubbed a small corner with some plastic polish and it seemed to remove the hazing but I don't know how it would be on the entire hood. What should I use to remove the haze and keep it off? The roof is probably the same but one thing at a time. I'm not comfortable with a buffer.

The paint isn't dull, I clayed and waxed the hood and the defects are still there.

thanks

GM has pretty bad paint. What color is it? The first 2 pictures I have here are of my step-mom's 2010 Pontiac G6. Paint all of a sudden faded really bad when it was 3-1/2 years old. Wax didn't help at all. The only picture I have is of after she wrecked it August 2015, then 2 weeks later when my dad fixed it at the body shop he works at. He had the roof sprayed too. The 3rd picture is of a family member's 2005 Chevy Tahoe. It clears up with wax a bit.

1qsacz.jpg

2nrkg0m.jpg

zvvrqc.jpg

Originally Posted By: ted s
uv damage

You can try aggressively buffing it with M105/M205 to bring some life back, but if it is clear coat damage, there's not much else short of repainting it.

To quote Bones "It's dead Jim". My experience with GM paint is that when you start seeing pronounced cloudiness, the paint is damaged and just a season or so from starting to peel if it is base coat clear coat.

I have a Toyota that was repaired from a hit and the hood did this last year, now it is peeling. They used cheap paint I am guessing.

Originally Posted By: turtlevette
But i thought bb/cc paint is so wonderful and durable.