Whole House audio

Status
Not open for further replies.
Anyone here an expert on whole house audio?

I need about 4-5 zones, one will be pool/patio (outdoors, kind of) with really nice sound quality and full wireless remote controls.

Anybody with experience or advice?

Sorry,

I can't help, but I did discover that there is a poor man's version offered by Apple called an "Airport Express". I use it for the purposes you've described since I don't have the built in wiring.

All you need is iTunes and a router. The Airport express plugs into any outlet and connects to any stereo. Through it, you can stream music from your computer to the "Airport" anywhere within your router's wireless range. Additionally, if you happen to have an iPod Touch or iPhone, you can control the whole system using that device as your remote control.

Sorry if I'm off topic, but I thought this information might be helpful to somebody reading this thread.

Well I am not an expert in multi-zone audio either. I am more of a music enthusiast, so multi-zone stuff is not my thing, I have a 2.1 system for music and movies.

But I am also not sure what the OP really wants to know...recommendaions for an amp and speakers or how to set it up?

From what I know, Onkyo and Marantz amps offer a lot of bang for the $$, and they make reputable multi channel amps, and can be considered mid-level quality.

One can also ask their local audio/video shop, and then based on that advice, look for cheaper alternatives.

Start researching on multi zone/multi channel amps. There are good speaker makers out there once you have decided on the electronics.

Aperion, Ascend, Outlaw, Emotiva etc can be recommended as good online vendors/makers.

Thanks. That's at least a start.

We're starting from ZERO knowledge of what's out there. I don't want to spend more than 5-8k max, but I might go higher for a bit better sound quality.

Appreciate the help.