Who here is in sales? I need some advice

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello all, hope everyone is enjoying the holiday season and staying (somewhat) warm. As some of you know, I am a salesman at one of the 4 major cell phone carriers (won't mention who to prevent commenting). Anyhow, before this job, I had worked at Best Buy in the same position for about a year, and have about 10 months under my belt at my current job. While I did enjoy phone sales at Best Buy, it was less of a sales job, and more of a normal retail job (no real goals, no punishment for low sales, etc) At my current job, however, we do have real goals, and we do have very specific numbers to hit. Since my start there, I seem to have gotten stuck in the 'typical' sales pitches that everyone in this business seems to use, and it seems like I've gotten a little content with where I'm at with sales. Basically, you're making decent money and you're not at risk of loosing your job, so why change? Lately I've noticed that the mentality of our store seems to be changing. No one seems to have any motivation, sales people sell whatever the customers asks for and nothing else, etc. Part of this has to do with management, as there is no discipline whatsoever for low numbers or not caring, which obviously isn't helping our overall numbers. I'm trying to keep myself from slipping into this fashion, and most of the time, I don't let myself. However, I know that my earning potential (as far as commission is concerned), is basically unlimited, and I Know for a fact that I'm not doing near as much as I could to close bigger sales. So, I'm asking people who've been doing this a long time, what's worked for you? And no, I'm not just looking for direct answers to solve all of our problems. What books have you read? What classes did you take? What do you do to motivate yourself for work (outside of the money aspect)? Also, for those of you who work directly with a team, what do you do to motivate your team? As