Vista SP1 Broke My Computer!!!!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.
What a friggin joke. I noticed that my computer was prompting me to let me know that there was a Windows Update available. I click to see what it is, and lo and behold, its Vista SP1. Sweet, I say to myself, maybe this will fix some chronic issues that I've been dealing with for awhile now.

So I download it and it TRIES to install. Until it gets stuck on a black screen with some random error text. Because of said error, I have to do a system restore from a backup file just to get my computer to boot. After finally getting it going, I make sure that my BIOS, firmware versions, etc are updated. I try again. Same issue.

Not that I'm an expert, but I consider myself pretty computer savvy. My personal comp is in top condition, no spyware or any of that, worked perfectly UNTIL I TRIED TO INSTALL VISTA SP1.

What a friggin load. Vista SP1 is supposed to make my computer better, not break it to the point that I need to do a system restore just to get it to boot into Windows.

Linux is looking better and better everyday.

*Rant Over*

Edit: My computer is an IBM Thinkpad laptop that I bought about 1 year ago and runs Windows Vista Business. Everything has worked perfectly until the Microsoft update fiasco.

Last edited:
For those interested the error code was as follows:

Error Code 800F0816

I did some research, but found very little about it. There have been others with the same issue, but very little in the way of answers.

I'm having a problem reconciling these two statements:

"maybe this will fix some chronic issues that I've been dealing with for awhile now."

"Everything has worked perfectly until the Microsoft update fiasco."

Which is it? What are the "issues"? I wouldn't perform a major update on a computer having issues unless I knew in advance that the update was meant to correct those issues. It might also help to know what apps you are running that were not on the machine when purchased.