Valvoline VR1 - mixing viscosities

Hi, I registered on this forum, because it seems to be the best place for oil related questions.

The car is a 1990 Porsche 944 S2.

I've been running Valvoline VR1 20w50 for 2-3 years. It works well in the spring/summer/fall and I've usually hibernated the car in winter. However, things have changed and now I need to use this car all year. Most days 20w50 is still fine, but the car is really unhappy about cold starts below freezing.

For my climate the ideal oil would be a 10w50, as it would work well both in the coldest and the warmest conditions I come across. 5wX is rumored to eat rod bearings due to being too thin on cold starts.

Valvoline does not have a VR1 10w50 (or 10w40), so I emailed them asking if I can mix their VR1 5w50 and their 20w50 to get something around 10w50. Their answer was that all VR1 oils are mixable. So I got a 4L bottle of VR1 5W50 and I notice it's a full synthetic. The 20W50 is not synthetic. That's when I start wondering if these oils are really compatible at all, or if their customer rep gave me the wrong advice.

If they were both dino or both synthetic I would have bought it, but now I'm getting suspicious - I'm suspecting that the additives in a synthetic would be quite different from the additives in a dino oil and that they won't work well together at all.

Any thoughts on this?

The add packs are pretty much identical, the base oil and VI content would be the biggest difference. If I was you though, I would just run the Valvoline VR1 5w-50 synthetic and not worry about trying to mix oils.

The add packs are pretty much identical, the base oil and VI content would be the biggest difference. If I was you though, I would just run the Valvoline VR1 5w-50 synthetic and not worry about trying to mix oils.
The reason for not wanting to use 5w50 is the reports of 5w50 oils eating rod bearings in these engines.