Turkey cooking.....

Classic oven baked, deep fried, smoked? Trying something new this year. Will see how it turns out.

I have made superb turkeys with all methods.

Smoked on the grill is quite good if you've never done it, and less of a production and cost than deep-frying if you don't have the equipment and want to lay out for the oil (check the cost on that before you go "all-in" on that). This is a SUPERB oven method, btw - people are always impressed and ask me what I did. I've been doing this for almost 20 years if it's not fried or grilled/smoked:

The "secret ingredient" is the cheesecloth. Really. You'll understand if you read the recipes (allows for amazing basting).

If you do go with the fryer, a great way to entertain the kiddos: Deep fry weird stuff afterwards. Sweet pickles. Twinkies, etc. Really tasty and fun.

Turkey is just such a bland, uninspired bird. If it's gotta be turkey, herb-brined and oven-roasted is the way to go. I'd much rather eat any other bird, especially goose, duck, grouse, pheasant, or just a high quality chicken. I haven't eaten turkey in probably 5 years. And I loathe smoked turkey legs. It's like gnawing mummified flesh clinging to a bone. The only turkey I enjoy is Wild Turkey, especially Russel's Reserve.

Last edited:
Brined and cooked in an infra-red 'fryer'. I don't think its better than a deep-fried bird, but it is close and way less hassle and mess.

Classic oven baked, deep fried, smoked? Trying something new this year. Will see how it turns out.

try the slow cook method, it is awesome and completely safe

Turkey.pdf (baz.org)

How to Cook a Turkey Overnight | Williams-Sonoma Taste (williams-sonoma.com)

Matt's Thanksgiving Turkey....

1 cup white wine
1 Tablespoon Mrs Dash Original seasoning
1 Tablespoon dried onion flakes or 1/4 cup chopped onion
2 cups No Sodium Chicken Broth
Small turkey breast
Cook in 325-350 oven to 160º F
If it’s small enough, you can fix your turkey breast in a 7 or 8 quart Crock Pot...