They're the same and you're a crook!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Invite him to your shop and explain everything to him exactly as you explained it here. Have him sit there with his mouth shut and tell him that he can ask questions when you are completely done with your explanation.
If no apology comes out of his mouth, tell him to hit the road and never come back.

Originally Posted By: The_Eric

So boy wonder (about 40 years old) calls up 2 different O'Reilly stores and gets the same answer- that they're the same.

crackmeup2.gif

I had to look and see if I was in the humor section.
This only proves again what I've learned, and said before. O'Wrongly's is the worst auto parts store EVER.
I hope it works out well, but I encourage you never to argue with an idiot. They will drag you to their level, and beat you with experience.

Originally Posted By: dlundblad
He takes things to you he cant fix, but he asked you to replace an alternator?

I am no mechanic and a sub par parts swapper.. and I replaced an alternator in a cold dark Oreillys parking lot about 70 miles from home. If one has time, proper tools and lighting, it should be an easy job.

I told my roommate that once. "Oh it's an alternator, it's easy to change." That job took several hours of working on his back and involved a hacksaw--Mitsubishi Colt of some sort, alternator was on the backside of the motor and hanging low. After watching that I stopped giving auto advice.

Alternator on the Taurus is a pretty big deal. I believe Vin U is the OHV engine, but on the DOHC engine, the subframe has to be dropped.

You went to his 50th Anniversary so he's getting older now.

General $ concerns + hardening of the arteries (brain oxygen starvation) => that kind of dementia.

It's the old difference between "Where did I leave my keys?" and "You took my keys".

If you have the guy over for a chat, it might be smart to have a "friendly mutual friend" sitting with you in the manner of "oil on the waters".