Synthetic Technology Formulation Castrol Transmax

Was checking out Castrols Dex/Merc fluid and it says:
Castrol Transmax ATF Dex/Merc Multivehicle is a Synthetic Technology formulation ...... Does that mean it's a sythetic fluid? Blend? Conventional made the same way as synthetic?

Pardon my ignorance if the answer is obvious..... I'm still learning about all this stuff.

Attachments

• Screenshot_20230404-234500.jpg
    Screenshot_20230404-234500.jpg
    125.4 KB · Views: 35
Castrol Transmax ATF Dex/Merc Multivehicle is a Synthetic Technology formulation ...... Does that mean it's a sythetic fluid? Blend? Conventional made the same way as synthetic?

Pardon my ignorance if the answer is obvious..... I'm still learning about all this stuff.
Not Ignorance. Oil can be complicated. From what I gather "Synthetic Technology" is essentially a fancy way of using only a small portion of a group III oil & the rest being Group II. Basically, not enough group III oil in the mixture to claim "Synthetic Blend". For transmissions a decent Full Synthetic fluid can give you piece of mind but not always necessary if you're going to change it out on schedule.

https://bobistheoilguy.com/forums/threads/what-is-synthetic-technology.356670/

Not Ignorance. Oil can be complicated. From what I gather "Synthetic Technology" is essentially a fancy way of using only a small portion of a group III oil & the rest being Group II. Basically, not enough group III oil in the mixture to claim "Synthetic Blend". For transmissions a decent Full Synthetic fluid can give you piece of mind but not always necessary if you're going to change it out on schedule.

https://bobistheoilguy.com/forums/threads/what-is-synthetic-technology.356670/
Ah didn't think they made a dex iii/mercon synthetic.

If you want a great synthetic Dex III compatible fluid look no further.

I've asked this question in the past. I notice Total use a lot of 'synthetic technology'. I now assume it just means it's a Group 3 oil.