StopTech Street Performance brake pads review PICS

Status
Not open for further replies.
Note - I’m putting the term “review” in the title because I’ll be updating this thread in the future and it will be easier for people to find this way. This post will focus on the installation and my first impressions.

I recently picked up a semi-beater NB Miata for cheap as a car to have fun with. It has needed a decent amount of repairs and maintenance, as it was owned by a person who was not knowledgeable about cars.
c10ee2b7-c731-42cb-bf54-5a50e3684b2d_zpsb882f65f.jpg

It needed a set of brake pads and after doing some research I settled on StopTech Street Performance pads. I was also considering Hawk HPS pads. I decided to go with the StopTechs because they were cheaper and I have never used Centric products before, so I wanted to give them a shot.

The old pads
The old pads didn’t work great. The fronts were mostly worn. The rears were unevenly worn. It turns out there was a sticking caliper pin on the rear leading one side to wear more quickly than the other.

I was able to get some info off the old pads to learn a little about them.

For those who don’t know, the AMECA has lists of brake pad edge codes available. If you’re looking at a store-brand pad or otherwise want to know more about a pad, googling the number will normally take you to one of their documents, which list the manufacturers.

The old rear pads have the code MAC 1001 FF. The "MAC" indicates it’s some kind of Bosch pad.

The front pads weren't as readable, but I was able to get the manufacturer code TQ and the friction rating, FF. "TQ" means these were made by Federal Mogul. I believe the "TQ" code, and the grey paint on the backing plates, indicates the fronts are Wagner Thermo Quiets.
Oldpads-1200_zpsb03a575f.jpg

Out of the box