sound bar problem

Joined
Nov 27, 2014
Messages
806
Location
Denver
I have a 3 month old Samsung smart T.V. With a 3 month old Samsung sound bar. I have the sound bar hooked up with an optical cable. I sync the sound bar to the T.V and it works fine for a day,couple days and then it reverts back to the internal speakers and I have to re sync it. And no there is no way to turn off the T.V. speakers,they mute when it senses the sound bar. Any thoughts?
 

OVERKILL

$100 Site Donor 2021
Joined
Apr 28, 2008
Messages
51,370
Location
Ontario, Canada
You can't go into the settings for the TV and choose the SPDIF output as the audio output default, rather than synching it?
 

marine65

Thread starter
Joined
Nov 27, 2014
Messages
806
Location
Denver
I go into the T.V. sound setting and select the sound bar and then click on connect. the sound bar shows DIN for the optical cable.
 

OVERKILL

$100 Site Donor 2021
Joined
Apr 28, 2008
Messages
51,370
Location
Ontario, Canada
OK, but what protocol is it using to see the soundbar, bluetooth? Is the only cable connecting the two together the Toslink cable? My Samsung is older than yours, but I have the following settings: I have it connected to my receiver via HDMI, which is why it is presently on receiver, but when I was using optical out, I selected "External Speaker".
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2003
Messages
6,634
Location
Illinois
I got a LG SH2 sound bar for Christmas. It has performed flawlessly so far with the optical cable.
 
Joined
Dec 24, 2014
Messages
1,138
Location
Huntington WV
I have a 2 year old Samsung TV and Samsung Sound Bar connected by Bluetooth and I've never had a problem but I would think the toss line would be more stable than Bluetooth
 
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
2,117
Location
USA
I have a 42 inch dynex best buy house brand tv. I turn the sound to zero then used a toslink to control the sound without any issues.
 

marine65

Thread starter
Joined
Nov 27, 2014
Messages
806
Location
Denver
I tried to hook up the sound bar with an HDMI cable but I could not get it to work. I followed the directions that came with sound bar very closely several times and it would not connect.
 

marine65

Thread starter
Joined
Nov 27, 2014
Messages
806
Location
Denver
The built in speakers are really good.This is a 2017 model Samsung. MU6300. If I didn't have a sound bar when i bought this T.V. I would not have gotten one. After further research this morning it seems that Samsung T.V.s are known for not being able to connect via HDMI or its erratic at best. I may just stay with optical,although it does lose the optical connection as well. Check this out us.community.samsung.com/t5/forums/v3_1/forumtopicpage/board-id/tv/thread-id/10414/page/4
 
Last edited:

OVERKILL

$100 Site Donor 2021
Joined
Apr 28, 2008
Messages
51,370
Location
Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted By: marine65
The built in speakers are really good.This is a 2017 model Samsung. MU6300. If I didn't have a sound bar when i bought this T.V. I would not have gotten one. After further research this morning it seems that Samsung T.V.s are known for not being able to connect via HDMI or its erratic at best. I may just stay with optical,although it does lose the optical connection as well. Check this out us.community.samsung.com/t5/forums/v3_1/forumtopicpage/board-id/tv/thread-id/10414/page/4
Did you see the pic I posted of the options from my TV? How do yours compare?
 

marine65

Thread starter
Joined
Nov 27, 2014
Messages
806
Location
Denver
Yes i have the speaker selection option its just different. i can select my sound bar to play thru optical and it works just fine,for a day maybe a week then it reverts back to internal speakers.
 

OVERKILL

$100 Site Donor 2021
Joined
Apr 28, 2008
Messages
51,370
Location
Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted By: marine65
Yes i have the speaker selection option its just different. i can select my sound bar to play thru optical and it works just fine,for a day maybe a week then it reverts back to internal speakers.
Any way you can post a pic of the options you are presented? Once Toslink is selected it should just "work", there's no further handshaking, it's just a digital output that it basically blindly streams data from.
 

OVERKILL

$100 Site Donor 2021
Joined
Apr 28, 2008
Messages
51,370
Location
Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted By: marine65
I cant post pictures.
Really? You using a phone or tablet? The 5th icon from the left in the post box is the one for uploading them to the site, FYI, in case you were unaware.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2003
Messages
18,147
Location
NE,Ohio
What source are you using.. some soundbars will do passthrough hdmi for the sound.. of course this doesnt work if you have 3 or 4 sources. If you have an antique hdmi cable it can cause issues as well. (using ARC type hookup) Toslink should just work. that seems odd.. FWIW: I googled and it seems like sometimes samsung tv can be flaky with toslink connection. I would concentrate on using a different connection type.. such as passthrough hdmi or hdmi ARC.
 
Top