Something I noticed, shallow sipes on General RT43

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'll be buying new tires for my Nissan Frontier in the coming year or so, and I'm generally interested in tires, so I've been researching different models.

A lot of people talk about the General RT43 here and mostly have positive things to say. A Tire Rack test showed it having pretty good winter performance (although it was below the Hankook H727 in that respect).

I studied one in person at my local Walmart and I noticed the sipes are pretty shallow. I know that's common on some tires, but it makes me wonder how the winter performance will hold up on the RT43 over time?

I'll be interested to see owners update their reviews after they get significant miles on these tires.

Here's a look at the second rib, looking at it from the outside edge. You can see the sipes aren't cut very deeply into the tread.
RT431_zps8bb54d76.jpg

Here's the second rib, looking at it from the inside edge.
RT434_zps240358f4.jpg

This shows the center rib, and these go all the way to the bottom of the tread blocks. But you might consider these voids between tread blocks rather than sipes.
RT432_zps33f893c5.jpg

This is the outside rib of the tire. Again, the sipes don't seem very deep.
RT433_zps32755da4.jpg

For comparison, here is a Michelin Defender. You can see the sipes seem to go all the way to the bottom of the tread blocks.
RT435_zpsbe1abdb5.jpg

Here's a Hankook H727. I took this photo when the tires were new. I no longer have the car to look at them. If you look closely you'll see the center rib and the outside ribs seem to have sipes that go all the way to the bottom of the block. The second rib from the outside seems to have sipes that don't go all the way to the bottom of the tread blocks.
IMG_7513-1000.jpg