Small business owners-Closing?

Status
Not open for further replies.
As a small business owner, I am a little confused on how to handle the work load (if any) for the next 2 weeks. I own a small european repair shop. As it stands now, we have only a few appointments this upcoming week, and all 3 of mine on friday cancelled. Wondering whats the point of sitting around in a shop all day, waiting for work that may not come. Going to see how Monday and Tuesday goes, but at what point do you shut down as well?

Close the shop and have all the phone calls that would go to the shop come through to your house phone or mobile phone. If someone needs work you have the space and the tools to do it but like you say there's not much point paying to light and heat the shop if no custoemrs are coming to see you.

If anyone does make a booking, ask them if they are sick before they bring the car to you - last thing you want is somebody with Covid to sneeze on the steering wheel 5 minutes before you drive it onto your ramp.

Lots of folks are going to work from home. Social distancing and all that will be the norm, maybe even some travel restrictions. But it seems like folks will still need to get around (walkable for many around where you are, but not for everything), and if anything, I suspect that folks might want to catch up on repairs.

Since they're now getting lifetime numbers on the virus, seems like it's prudent to go home, forward the phone, as was said above, and then ensure a sufficiently long wait time before getting in the vehicle or touching surfaces.

Was thiking about putting up signs that say "Call for service" My receptionist is already working from home for 6 months since she had a baby, so that would stay in effect. Thanks for the input, something to think about this week depending on how it goes.