Resealing a 30 year old Denso AC compressor

Good Morning,

I had a big leak in my 91 Toyota. I decided to go haywire and replace every single O-ring in the 30 year old AC system. Amazingly, Toyota still had the original Oem R12 o-rings available for cheap.
For the compressor I bought an eBay reseal kit. I watched a YouTube video, how to reseal a Denso 10P compressor. It didn’t seem too difficult.

I have replaced all the seals on the compressor, including shaft seal.

Before putting everything back on the vehicle, is a vacuum test sufficient for a leak test? I don’t want to assemble the entire system again and find out it has a gaping leak.
I did a vacuum test on the compressor, and it did not leak overnight. It stayed right at -19psi for 12 hours.
Is a pressure test absolutely necessary? I studied nitrogen pressure tests, and they did seem more representative of an AC system than a vacuum test.
Anyone experienced with AC?

Attachments

• 3246C14E-78B2-46F1-8858-4F24420E58B3.jpeg
    3246C14E-78B2-46F1-8858-4F24420E58B3.jpeg
    92.8 KB · Views: 4
Did you blow out your hoses and coils with cleaner. New Dryer? You would be amazed at the snot that comes out of a good flushed system.

In general a system that's okay and develops a leak should just have the leak fixed and then be recharged. If things are worse than 'develops a leak' -- compressor failure, system has been discharged or open for a while, you are converting to another refrigerant -- then the bigger job is probably advisable.

1. Take out all the parts including plumbing, flush, with commercial flushing solvent, and blow out with shop air -- little tire pump compressor isn't enough. Exceptions -- DON'T solvent flush/blow out the compressor or evaporator valve. Failed compressor gets replaced, evaporator valve just keep it clean. Do nothing with the filter/dryer -- buy a new one but leave the seal in place until you install it. .