Recommended Oil for Small Fan Bushings?

I have an Air King 9155 window fan that I have been using during the summer months for the past five years. The motor has spherical bushings, which are a bronze colour and might be sintered, but not sure about this. The motor also has three operating speeds and is 1/6 HP.

Several weeks ago the fan started making noises and had trouble starting on low speed. Eventually I took it apart, split open the motor and found a bunch of tar-like stuff in the NDE bushing which I believe was burned up oil. The bushing wick material was completely dry also. I cleaned it up and re-oiled with 3-In-One Motor Oil. Now it works fine on low and medium speed. But on high speed I hear a faint high pitched sound, like a metal-on-metal sound, and eventually after about 10 minutes of running it makes a loud squealing sound which I assume is coming from the NDE bushing.

I’m wondering how to fix this problem. I'm thinking perhaps the 3-In-One oil is too light and I should have used something heavier. What do you think? What is the proper oil for bushings on a small fan motor?

Spherical bushings for a rotating motor application? I don't think that's exactly ideal. Usually you'd use those for suspension components where you need a range of motion. A sealed ball bearing would be better.

Either way, it looks like 3-in-1 engine motor oil is listed as "SAE 20", I would try whatever xW-30 you may have laying around, and if that doesn't help, move to a grease.

you might have some excess play in the bushing now. if it is, i would pop the bushing out and replace it seeing you are adept at taking it apart. they are only a few dollar and can be had from grainger or the like.

this is how i fixed a portable air blower . the front bushing was so egged out that the cage was hitting the enclosure. $3 bushing and a hour or so and it works like new. they are $350 new

I have this fan, though mine has the Lasko label. It's a great fan.