Need help with Mom's Mercury GM

Status
Not open for further replies.
Mom took the car in for an oil change and, of course, they inspected the car for her. It's a 2002 Grand Marquis with maybe 20,000 miles on it.

Item 1, they claim the crankshaft sensor is having problems. I'm no mechanic, and I suppose they scanned the vehicle and it's out of spec, but I was under the impression that the crank sensor either worked or didn't, and if it didn't, the car just didn't run. She says there are no drivability issues and the CEL isn't lit, so this one baffles me.

Item 2, they recommend replacing the front shocks. Not sure why, and why just the fronts. The tires aren't wearing abnormally and she hasn't complained about a rough or bouncy ride.

Item 3, transmission pan gasket and the tail-shaft seal are supposedly leaking. She says there are no spots on the garage floor but they showed her seepage on the transmission. I'm not sure if she had the transmission fluid changed yet, so if not, I'm puzzled why the gasket would start to leak. The tailshaft seal, ok, maybe on this one since it's a moving part.

Opinions?

Thanks.

All crockery.

The rear shocks, at least the LR one, are a hassle to change out. So they're lazy and only want to do the fronts. Heavy car like this should get/need all 4 at once.

Seals weep, it's what keep them lubricated. The tranny output shaft can and should be a little damp.

You are right about the crank sensor. Works or it doesn't.

Yeah that all sounds like a bunch of bull to me.. If no leaks, no check engine light and no crazy bouncing like a shock is bad.. I'd say don't worry about any of it.

+1 on it being crockery.

At only 20,000 miles it shouldn't have any bad shocks.
Crankshaft position sensor either works or doesn't.
Transmission pan seepage could just be a loose bolt(s).