HVAC Techs - I need and ERV/HRV

I need some help on deciding on an HRV or and ERV for my new home built in Zone 4 North central Kentucky. I’m a weatherization contractor by trade and I’ve air sealed every single step of the way through my complete build. I however have limited knowledge on HRV/ERVs as I rarely ever find an existing structure that I can get this tight.

I ran a blower door test on my home I’ve been building and I’ve blown 335cfm @ 50Pa on a 2500 sf home. 23,800sf of volume. This gives me and ACH (air change per hour) of 0.83ACH50 if my math is right, and the crawl space is not encapsulated yet so I expect to shave another 35-50CFM on those numbers minimum.

with a house this tight what type of mechanical ventilation system do you recommend? I didn’t expect to get much tighter than 1.5ACH50 so I did not plan to buy a ventilation system, but now I definitely need one to exchange fresh air and remove stale air from the home.

Attachments

• 4943FA27-0580-4B59-BA4D-E5506F870099.jpeg
    4943FA27-0580-4B59-BA4D-E5506F870099.jpeg
    77.5 KB · Views: 10
What's the code requirement for humidity control, if any, in your area?

What your goal with this project? Saving money, IAQ, etc.

What's the code requirement for humidity control, if any, in your area?

What your goal with this project? Saving money, IAQ, etc.
There isn’t a code for humidity Control in my area. The goal is comfort with adequate breathing air for humans in the home. The structure will remain as air tight as possible keeping the home as efficient as possible. As far as budget for ventilation I don’t have a set price. Most erv/HRV units run about $1k plus installation and setup so in the $2-3k range is probably average installed and I’m okay with that. I just want recommendations.

Last edited: