HDEO OIL IN YAMAHA OUTBOARD & 4 STROKE SEA DOO.

Status
Not open for further replies.
First let me apologize for my question as I am sure it has been beat to death in the past.
I am new to outboard & Sea Doo maintenance as I only know about cars and motorcycles.

So any way, here goes....

Is it OK to use a good quality HDEO such as Rotella T 15w-40 or even the T6 5w-40 in place of the Yamalube in the outboard (F115, fuel injected & 100+ hrs) and BRP oil in the 4 stroke Sea Doo (90+ hrs and non-supercharged)?
Both get about 20-30 hrs a year usage.

It would be great to be able to use the same oil in both and be able to do oil changes for less than than $40 compared to the $90 now.

I am active on a couple of motorcycle forums and a lot of riders have used the 15w-40 for years and a few have started using the new T6 full synth 5w-40.
I have used the T6 5w-40 in my Honda VTX 1300 for the last 8,000 miles or so myself.

Any and all input is appreciated.
Thanks.

I would get a virgin oil analysis done on the factory lubes and then use those results to find suitable replacements.

Does the owners manual list a API or JASO requirement of the oil?

I think there was a VOA done on yamalube and it wasnt anything special, kinda like polaris oil.

Personally I would use T6 in both and sleep easy.

my .02

Yamaha states to use oil in API grade SE thru SL.
They do not have 5w-40 listed but they do show that you can use 5w-30.
I don't know about Sea Doo.

Cold starts will not be an issue on either machine.

Sea Doo's "new" summer blend oil is 5w-40.
Which makes me think that the T6 5w-40 would be ok.

I know it's only a once a year OCI on both, but I just hate to spend twice as much on the manufacturer's oil and it would be great to be able to use the same oil in both.

Thanks.

Last edited: