GM Owners: GM Warns DO NOT USE Acetone as a Fuel Additive

Status
Not open for further replies.
quote:

I'm just a product of my enviroment.

-SyN

What a beautiful statement...

so few of us take the time to realize, what a human actually IS (besides flash/bones)... We are, the only perfect result of our humanly experience. We are the result.

The guys at the dealer, are convinced, that the dealers opinions about the addatives, may be true, and they are the only perfect result of cercumstance... just as we are.

I like being the result of a bitog experience.

quote:

I feel comfort in the fact that my car is in the good hands of a factory authorized dealer and their staff.

Respectfully, I feel like I'm going to fall out of my chair laughing. I've been using syns for two decades now, an array of different brands, into cars from each of the US Big-3, Toyota, Nissan/Infiniti, Honda, and VW too. Guess what -- no leaks yet. I'm waiting . . . when should I expect them to start??????

Back toward the topic: in fairness to GM (and I can hardly believe I just typed that...), what should they do? There is a huge array of products out there that fall into the broad category of "additives". A few are the real thing and perform well, some are OK but oversold, and some are pure non-sense. There is simply no reasonable way to expect GM to sift through all these offerings and decide which are OK for which vehicles. Even if they attempted to put out such a list, millions would screw up in interpreting it. No, the only safe thing for them to do with respect to additives is declare that none are necessary and leave it to the consumers to try to make a good choice if they desire to go down that road. Let the buyer beware.
cheers.gif

Bob Weber in today's edition of the Chicago Tribune addressed the use of acetone as a fuel additive:

Keep Acetone at Fingertips, Not in Tank

Published November 20, 2005