Diesel guys read this

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have been a paramedic for 12 yrs. In that time I have driven the Powerstroke 7.3L and 6.6L The ambulances are large and are very heavy. We drive them very hard and at times upto 100 mph as long as 15 min. The oil we use is Conoco 15w-40 HD Fleet Supreme. Never ounce in 12 yrs. with 60,000+ calls a yr. (whole company) and millions of miles have I seen a blown engine or an oil related problem. I would say this is a pretty good record and diesel oil.
cheers2.gif

No, just the experience. They get ride of the old ambulances at 300,000 miles. 5000 mile services.

Thats actaully probably the best thing for those engines. Contrary to popular belief and the fact that they run at lower rpms that hard running is not good on a diesel. But they are made to run hard and work hard. Putting around in a diesel will kill it, they like to idle or run hard. Pretty much what you all do.

Actually we drive nice most of the time with alot of idleing. We are not on calls most of the time. But when we are those rigs are beat on.

pp. I am a paramedic as well. When we set the brake and put it in park the RPM's kick up to about 1250. Do your medic trucks do this? This helps the cause.

In the summer there is some idleling. In the winter there is alot of it. I'd say about 50% of us use the emerg. brake and the rpm's increase. It depends if were sitting in the truck or not. If not it's just a regular idle. So over all there is alot of idleing.

Quote:

Idling is not good for a diesel.

Many commercial fleets, especially in the north, are running literally 24/7 and idle all night. If it was that bad, I think they'd have found out now.

Ever stop at a rest stop in the middle of BFE midwest at night when it's still 85 degrees out with 100000000000% humidity? Trucks are all idling with the air on.