Dexcool out- PHOAT in

Hey guys. We all know the troubles that dexcool and its clones bring. But switching to regular green means a lot more changing. Im a Ford tech. We use Orange Dexcool type coolant, Yellow GO5 type, Standard Green, and Specialty Green PHOAT aka F22. The F22 cars have by far the cleanest cooling systems, even when neglected and just topped off occasionally. Dexcool destroys stuff if it gets any air in it at all, G05 is good but if neglected creates quite the mess of its own. But the PHOAT, just makes a little slimy film if neglected, and causes no other colling system parts an early death, and the flush machine gets that stuff out no probelem. So i think this is what we should be switching Dexcool vehicles over to. It has the same 5 year life, and is much more reliable. The only caveat is you need to use distilled water, but you should be doing that anyways. I have been soaking every type of gasket or seal from every type of other coolant we use here in the PHOAT for a couple months now and no abnormal softening or anything to cause me to believe there should be any issues doing so. I plan to be a guinea pig myself anyways and i will report back. Anyone else doing this?

Last edited:
No-but the Asian vehicles in the family that use PHOAT coolants appear to have some really nice looking cooling systems, even my brother's '02 Altima 2.5, which now has roughly 16 years & 175K on the FACTORY ANTIFREEZE!! Can't seem to get him to change it, admittedly other stuff has been breaking recently & costing a few $ (exhaust manifold/precat, cam sensors, floors rusted out, etc.).

BMW has some great looking cooling systems and their coolant has 2eha. I think all the dexcool 2eha drama is over and now just comes down to maintenance no matter what you are using. Most cars already self destructed if they were going to from the evil coolant conspirators.