"Crunch" Noises From Rear Hub

Status
Not open for further replies.
After doing my normal chain degreasing and lubrication this morning, I took my bike for a quick spin around the block and heard a "crunch" like noise coming from the rear of the bike. I got off the bike, lifted it up, and gave the rear wheel a spin. It appears as though the "crunch" like noise is coming from inside the rear hub.

I assume that this means my rear hub needs to be repacked with new grease?

The bike in question is a '04 Specialized HardRock Sport that is ridden occasionally. I've probably ridden it less than 1000 miles total since I bought it.

Any tips/suggestions on correcting this problem are greatly appreciated. I'm new to bicycle repair.

Thanks in advance!

Originally Posted By: Pablo
Could be needing grease....or the bearings may already be munched.

Take 'er apart!

It's strange how there was no warning whatsoever.

How do I take it apart? What tools do I need?

Ping me when I get home. I have a cool DIY bike site link. Basically you take the wheel off and remove the bearing retainer nuts......

You aren't a small guy and that's a decent load on pretty small bearings....lousy or no lube or slightly defective parts....just go bye-bye.

I use to try to adjust the preload without cone wrenches. Never doing that again, cone wrenches make it so much easier. I typically find that a common size for front and rear is 13 and 15 mm, respectively. If that is your case then go on ebay and get a park tool dcw4 double end with 13 and 15mm ends. Should run your no more than $8.

You can substitute with a piece of sheet metal and using a grinder to grind gap to size. I've done it before when I didn't have the correct size, kind of tedious.

Definitely recommend cone wrenches. As for re-packing, it's an easy job. Just make sure you keep track of all those little silver balls!