Close to abandoning the Ubuntu ship.

Been using Ubuntu since about 2006; prior to that I used SuSE (I even BOUGHT the boxed set @ CompUSA in Orange CT)

Pretty happy with it and the most recent release has ZFS option which I find very attractive

Was chatting it up with a coworker who works out of KS and he indicated he thought Ubuntu was a dog performance wise. He convinced me to load up Debian and compare..... He was right.

It appears lots of stuff running on Ubuntu to make it user friendly; stuff i probably don't need since I am a casual linux admin @ my day job.

Was somewhat interested in never having to do a clean install of an OS again and started looking @ RebornOS which is based on ArchLinux; ArchLinux is a rolling release linux distribution which means software is tested and released and the system is always kept up to date; there is no "version" to run other than "the current"

The RebornOS installer dispenses with the difficulties with installing Arch and also allows a choice of over 10 UI during the install.
I will cut to the chase and say this OS is fast, like really fast. I am running it on a 2012 i7 16Gb and SSD and it flies. There are a few oddities that even a normal linux user might not want to grapple with (e.g. out of date keyring, flakey tool for package management (use the command line) But it is a really good option for the patient user who wants to maximize the use of older hardware. Currently running the XFCE desktop, which is about as thin as it comes.

-Thomas

Another Ubuntu fan here, at least XUbuntu, which I've used for the past several years.
If you like Ubuntu and XFCE, have you tried XUbuntu?
Also: you might consider finding out what exactly is the "lots of stuff" in Ubuntu that you don't use, and uninstalling it.
Or, maybe it's time to jump into a new distro. It's fun and educational, if you have the time.

And here I just got Ubuntu 22.04 running in Hyper-V with sound and full screen video...