Briggs & Stratton 4.0 HP Tiller Issues

Status
Not open for further replies.
With all this recent free time, I decided to till up some areas of my yard to lay down new sod; I recently got a hold of an old school Briggs powered tiller with 4 HP. Had no spark so I purchased a modern coil that doesn't use the points and contacts. I also cleaned out the fuel tank and cleaned and refreshed the carb with a rebuild kit. Slapped everything back together and got it cranking and running for a few seconds. Need to fiddle with the carb some more, but at some point the engine seemed like it locked up. I took off the rope/string crank to turn the flywheel by hand and it does turn but it stops after it looks like it does a full cycle...when I turn the flywheel by hand both directions, it stops.

I'm fairly new to tinkering with small engines so any help is very much appreciated.

my not-so-educated guess would be check the new pointless ignition coil isn't grabbing the flywheel as it encounters the flywheel magnets as they pass by.
The ignition coil has to be fastened TIGHT to prevent that.
edit: .030" gap between coil armature & flywheel, I usually use a couple feeler gauges........

Last edited:
Have you pulled the spark plug and tried turning it over. I had a float needle go real bad and it flooded the cylinder with liquid fuel which as you know wont compress. When I pulled the plug and turned it over gas came spewing out. After I got it cleaned out again ( the carb) it mostly works OK but I had to put a fuel shutoff in line because if I let it sit for a week or so I would get fuel in the oil and the same lock up problem. I have been meaning to get a new carb for the last 3 years but it works the way it is and I never think about it until I need it again. It may be a heavy float or scared needle seat but a new float and seat cost about the same as a Chinese carb.