6% fuel dillution 2008 GTI 2.0 FSI

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi guys. This is my first time posting,

I sent an oil sample to Blackstone. Everything turned out fine, except for 6% fuel dillution. I wanted to know what could be causing this, so I called Blackstone.

Since my car's ECU is upgraded, they said the fuel mappings might be programmed incorrectly. So I called Revo and they said they were certain that was not correct.

I called the dealership and their service advisor told be to call VW of America customer service...really? I'm under warranty but I don't know were to start...should I replace fuel pump, filter, injectors? Where could I start the process of elimination... Also, I had carbon build-up (cylinder misfire) before so I may be symptom of ongoing fuel problem. It seems like dealership doesn't really want to do any preventative maintenance, rather just wait until something goes wrong. What do you suggest I do?

Thanks for your help!

Is the ECU upgrade a VW-sourced thing? Unless it's "approved" or whatever VW is going to tell you to take a hike on any engine related problems, whether you're still in the warranty or not.

I'd recommend sending your UOA results to Terry Dyson for a more comprehensive review & discussion of potential issues & solutions. It might seem expensive but if the alternative is a poor running car and/or throwing parts at it it would certainly be worth it.

jeff

Originally Posted By: greenjp
Is the ECU upgrade a VW-sourced thing? Unless it's "approved" or whatever VW is going to tell you to take a hike on any engine related problems, whether you're still in the warranty or not.

Yeah, don't even mention an aftermarket programming to your VW dealer. Return the car back to stock programming before you take it back to the dealer for any warranty work. Actually, it'd be interesting to see another UOA sample when running the stock programming to ensure it's not Revo's problem.