5S-FE extended OCI

Status
Not open for further replies.
Wandered into Walmart this morning and noticed that Syntech high mileage 5W30 full synth was on sale for $15.68--so I bought a couple, as our 2011 Camry is coming up on an oil change. Then I had a thought: why not do a 10k OCI on my 5S-FE for the summer? No cold starts, after all.

Thoughts? Engine has light varnish and a bit of sludge, but nothing that concerns me. I'm mostly concerned about heat, as summer brings a/c usage, and I don't drive the car particularly easy.

I have been doing 10K OCIs for the last 40 years with M1 oils in various types of engines with very good results.

Done 10k on a few vehicles, just not a known sludger. Guessing it's fine, but... oil's cheaper than an engine, yadda yadda yadda.

I should probably try it once and then slice open the filter, see what accumulates. I think this needs to have the VC gasket redone, it has a leak someplace and VC is easiest to get to.

Winter would go back to 5k OCI on account of cold starts.

Originally Posted By: supton
Done 10k on a few vehicles, just not a known sludger. Guessing it's fine, but... oil's cheaper than an engine, yadda yadda yadda.

I should probably try it once and then slice open the filter, see what accumulates. I think this needs to have the VC gasket redone, it has a leak someplace and VC is easiest to get to.

My engines all remain very clean and never show signs of wear with some over 300K. Winter, Spring, Summer, or Fall.