4L60E PWM pump and valve body compatibility

I have a early one piece case 4L60E Tag 3TAD(1993 4.3L truck). My research indicates that this tag is a non PWM transmission
It has a PWM pump and the valve body has a PWM solenoid for the torque converter circuit.
I have no knowledge of the history or who put it together.
Are these parts even compatible?
If so are there modifications needed to allow the torque converter lock up to function in "on /off" mode with a 12 pin harness plug computer?
As an aside....when did GM start using pulse width modulation for the 4L60 torque converter clutch apply?
Thanks to any responses in advance.

Last edited:
PWM debuted in 1995 for passenger cars (B-body, F-body, & Y-body) & 1996 for C/K truck chassis. 1995 PWM units are a one year only unit as in it uses a PWM 3-2 downshift solenoid & a PWM TCC Solenoid. 1996 & up uses a on/off 3-2 Solenoid & a PWM TCC Solenoid.

One can mix & match parts to a certain degree.....

*If you want to use a '93/'94 unit on a '95 PWM vehicle......Use a PWM Pump & a '95 ONLY valve body.

*If you want to use a '93/'94 unit on a '96 & up PWM vehicle...Use a PWM Pump & a '96 & up valve body.

*If you want to use a '95 PWM unit on a '93/'94 vehicle, Ground the PWM TCC Solenoid so it activates anytime the key is on. OR swap in a '93/'94 valve body.

*If you want to use a '96 & up PWM unit on a '93/'94 vehicle, Swap in a '95 valve body & Ground the PWM TCC Solenoid so it activates anytime the key is on. OR swap in a '93/'94 valve body.

*If you want to use a '93/'94 unit on a '96 & up vehicle, Swap in a '96 PWM pump & valve body.

There are 3 different separator plate's.....'93/'94.....'95.....And '96 & up & must be kept with their respective valve bodies.

You CANNOT run a PWM 3-2 Solenoid with on/off 3-2 Solenoid programming or vice versa as it WILL cause the 3-4 clutch to prematurely fail.

OK thanks.
Specifically I have a 1993 Blazer(full size) with a 5.7L.