1980s dodge 318 coils

Got a 1985-ish W250 plow truck. Unknown history. Butchered wiring.

Cutting out on me at half throttle, all cylinders at once, looking to throw a coil at it.

The one on it looks like
712WC9pq9IS._AC_SL1500_.jpg

but the online catalogs show a traditional 1970s coil with two wire stud connections and a female output. I suspect shenanigans-- an engine swap at some point, who knows.

I still have a ballast resistor... maybe its presence is my problem? The old coils needed them but the clip-in-connector ones shouldn't. Clip-in seems to have become popular in 1990.

Who knows these things?

Im no dodge expert, but an engine bay picture might help identify an engine swap...

looks like that coil goes back to 98 with an adapter harness...

Trace out the wiring?

Wasn’t it possible to swap in a gm hei ignition module? Eons ago I wanted a slant six car, and I want to say, that was often done as an upgrade. Stock distributor triggered the module. Then no ballast required.

Toss it and put an OEM style coil on it. Back in the day, we called those pretty coils "stata-rudicators" because they were a waste of money and caused problems.

I would also change out the wires, plugs, cap and rotor. Any of the ignition items can break down under load and cause a misfire. I believe the stock plug is a Champion RN12YC (not sure in 1985) , I found the Clampions worked best in those Mopars..I had issues with Bosch and NGK in 318"s.

Last edited:
Pic of coil was for reference-- it has a weatherproof clip-in connector like mine.

When I look up "OE" for my year, I get a coil that doesn't look like mine.

Hence my question.

I'll add that there isn't a computer, nor a catalyst.

Last edited:
I assume it has some sort of transistorized ignition?

Id put it back to the stock coil including the presence or absence of ballast resistor. can't we determine exact year by the VIN?