18mm wrench not so popular?

I'll get some hate for this, but I like to treat myself to an HF visit once a month. What can I say.. Its an awesome store! laugh I was looking at their wrench sets and to my surprise, basically ALL the sets did not include an 18mm wrench.. What gives? shrug I guess Sears is my only other option. I wonder how the warranty will work when they go under and some Chinese company purchases the brand??

So the chinese warranty at Harbor Freight is fine, but you're worried about a Craftsman warranty if they were bought by a similar entity? IDK, probably like Ridgid, Kobalt or any other chinese/taiwanese made company with a lifetime warranty. I wouldn't lose sleep over it. Ace carries Craftsman now, I'm sure a million others will soon. I'm pretty sure I don't have an 18mm or 5.5mm. Everyone who sees my garage must think I'm a total amateur!

Last edited:
I've wondered about that for ages; every box wrench set I've ever bought didn't have an 18mm wrench, and I find a lot of 18mm bolts on cars! I think it's a conspiracy to sell 18mm wrenches separately. Tool makers, bolt makers, and car manufacturers use it for their retirement funds.

dlundblad

Originally Posted By: IndyIan
Do you have an 18mm bolt? The 17 and 19 in my set get lots of work, but I couldn't tell you if I have an 18mm wrench?
I need an 18mm to remove the calipers on my Jeep.

my geartech renches came with a 18 but not 5.5 i like geartech over craftsman ratchet wrenches. i use to be a (brand [censored]) but over the years ive seen cheap name tools in industrial settings and buy whats on sale... i worked at a harley shop and both mechanics had husky tools. beat the [censored] out of them daily with various projects. my uncle did automotive work for a living, had his own business, only used craftsman.

dlundblad

Originally Posted By: bepperb