0W-20 in a Snow King?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have a Troy-Bilt snow blower with a Tecumseh Snow King engine. I'm not sure of the size, I think it's a 5.5hp model as it has a 24" path. I've been running 5W-30 in it since new and I've had it since 2005. Oil has only been changed twice with a little bit of top-off added each year. Engine is spec'd for xW-30.

I have a bunch of NAPA Synthetic 0W-20 on the shelf to use up. Is that a bad idea for this engine? I've heard Snow Kings can shear oil pretty badly, and I'm also concerned about fuel dilution, oil consumption, and condensation. The better flow when cold is appealing though.

I also have M1 OW-40, M1 TDT 5W-40, and VV ML 10W-30 on hand.

0W-20 in winter OPE: good idea or bad idea?

I doubt it will hurt it. It's up to you. Oil temps in these engines probably stays pretty low. Based on oil temps in our riding mower, I'd be surprised if they hit 160 most times.

In very cold tempatures I don't see why 0w-20 would be an issue.

Regular changes is the key to these small engines.
Fuel dilution can cause shear. Condensation is from the engine not getting hot enough.

The 0w20 woulden't solve these, but regular changes would.

The only thing that the 0w20 would help out with is cold starts on very very cold days.

Originally Posted By: SuperDave456
In very cold tempatures I don't see why 0w-20 would be an issue.

Regular changes is the key to these small engines.
Fuel dilution can cause shear. Condensation is from the engine not getting hot enough.

The 0w20 woulden't solve these, but regular changes would.

The only thing that the 0w20 would help out with is cold starts on very very cold days.

Coldest it will probably be run is 10*F. Colder than that, I'm staying inside to drink coffee.

Anyone have viscosity numbers for a typical 0W-20 at 10*F versus a typical 5W-30 or 10W-30?

that would depend totally on the exact brand and oil.

A low vi 0w20 like castrol syntec/edge titanium
(the gold bottle one)